England vs New Zealand 1st ODI: Ben Stokes Returns to Boost England’s ODI World Cup Defense

In the first One Day International (ODI) of the eagerly anticipated 4-match series, New Zealand captain Tom Latham won the toss and elected to put England in to bat at the picturesque Sophia Gardens in Cardiff. A notable highlight of the day will be England’s Gus Atkinson making his ODI debut, while charismatic all-rounder Ben Stokes has come out of retirement to bolster England’s chances in the ODI World Cup defense set to take place in India. In contrast, New Zealand has chosen not to include their left-arm pacer, Trent Boult, in the lineup.

England vs New Zealand Playing XI

New Zealand Playing XI:

  1. Devon Conway
  2. Will Young
  3. Henry Nicholls
  4. Daryl Mitchell
  5. Tom Latham (c/w)
  6. Glenn Phillips
  7. Rachin Ravindra
  8. Kyle Jamieson
  9. Matt Henry
  10. Tim Southee
  11. Lockie Ferguson

England Playing XI:

  1. Dawid Malan
  2. Harry Brook
  3. Joe Root
  4. Ben Stokes
  5. Jos Buttler (c/w)
  6. Liam Livingstone
  7. Chris Woakes
  8. David Willey
  9. Gus Atkinson
  10. Adil Rashid
  11. Reece Topley

England vs New Zealand ODI Head-to-Head


  • Matches Played: 91
  • England Won: 41
  • New Zealand Won: 43
  • Tied: 3
  • No Result: 4
  • England Win %: 46.15%
  • New Zealand Win %: 47.25%

Last 5 ODIs:

  • This will be the first ODI match between England and New Zealand since the 2019 Cricket World Cup.
  1. Match tied: 14-Jul-2019
  2. England won by 119 runs: 03-Jul-2019
  3. England won by 7 wickets (with 104 balls remaining): 10-Mar-2018
  4. New Zealand won by 5 wickets (with 3 balls remaining): 07-Mar-2018
  5. England won by 4 runs: 03-Mar-2018


England Squad for ODIs vs New Zealand:

  • Jason Roy
  • Liam Livingstone
  • Joe Root
  • Dawid Malan
  • Ben Stokes
  • Harry Brook
  • Jos Buttler (c/w)
  • Jonny Bairstow
  • Chris Woakes
  • Moeen Ali
  • David Willey
  • Sam Curran
  • Reece Topley
  • Adil Rashid
  • Mark Wood
  • Brydon Carse
  • Gus Atkinson

New Zealand Squad for ODIs vs England:

  • Tom Latham (c/w)
  • Devon Conway
  • Henry Nicholls
  • Glenn Phillips
  • Finn Allen
  • Daryl Mitchell
  • Rachin Ravindra
  • Will Young
  • Mitchell Santner
  • Lockie Ferguson
  • Matt Henry
  • Kyle Jamieson
  • Trent Boult
  • Tim Southee
  • Adam Milne

England vs New Zealand ODI Details

When will England vs New Zealand 1st ODI take place?

  • ENG vs NZ 1st ODI will be held today, September 8.

What is the venue of England vs New Zealand 1st ODI?

  • ENG vs NZ 1st ODI will take place at Sophia Gardens in Cardiff.

What is the toss timing of ENG vs NZ 1st ODI in Cardiff?

  • The live toss for England vs New Zealand 1st ODI will occur at 4:30 PM Indian Standard Time (IST).

According to IST, what is the match timing of England vs New Zealand 1st ODI?

  • ENG vs NZ 1st ODI is scheduled to start at 5 PM IST in Cardiff.

Which TV channels will live telecast England vs New Zealand 1st ODI match?

  • Sony Sports Network holds the broadcasting rights for England’s home matches. Sony Sports 2 HD/SD will broadcast the ENG vs NZ 1st ODI in India.

How to watch the live streaming of the ENG vs NZ 1st ODI?

  • Indian fans can catch the live stream of the England vs New Zealand 1st ODI on Sony LIV.
Previous Article

Anupama's Upcoming Twist: Will There Be a Murder Attempt on Pakhi? Will Anupama's World Fall Apart?

Next Article
Photo by Shehnaaz Gill on May

To achieve glowing skin like Shehnaaz Gill, you can follow these tips

Related Posts